Purchasing a cabin in The Great Smoky Mountains

VRBO-Nothin'-But-Views-2013-0524-View-1 Judy side of cabinMy husband and I visited Pigeon Forge in June of 2012.  My brother owns a cabin in Starr Crest Resort and we took our two (now teenage) children Calvin and Nina.  He was reluctant to travel 10 hours away on vacation.  I had been there before and loved it.  I love the mountains.  My husband is more of a beach guy.  We drove down the strip in Pigeon Forge.  The kids were so excited about everything they wanted to do on their vacation.  When my husband got to the cabin and saw the beautiful views, he said “You can drag me 10 hours anytime”.  We truly fell in love with the area.  There is something there for everyone.  The area is full of history, beauty and fun!

Less than a year later, we own a cabin in Legacy Mountain Resort.  We have been there many times.  I love it there.  I don’t ever want to leave.  It took a lot of trips to find the perfect cabin for us.  We were looking for something with roads that are wide and easily maneuvered.  We definitely wanted a view.  And, we found one.  We picked Nothin But Views.VRBO-NBV-2013-0627-Deck-View-1 Judy

The time came for settlement.  I thought I had everything in line to run smoothly.  When we got to our cabin to do the walk through, there were guests in there.  They were scheduled to stay a couple more days.  I did not know how to tell them that there were several things I needed to do to the house (meet with maintenance guy, cleaners, buy linens, decorate, etc…) to get it ready for my renters.  I felt bad for the gentleman.  Well, the rental company did find that family another cabin.  The cleaners did not make it in time to clean before settlement.   I put some of my things in the cabin and changed the combination and told them not to bother cleaning.  Somehow the cleaners got in later that day when we were out.  They took everything that was not nailed down (Alcohol, tape measure, hair dryer, bead spread etc…).   I guess they figured the last guests left the items.  I also made the mistake of leaving the owners closet open.  I felt robbed.  How did they get into the house?  We again called the rental company.  They did return most of our stuff.  But, I was so keyed up at that point.  Nothing was going right,  Even the cable company forgot to schedule us and couldn’t find time before we left to install the cable.

The dining room table sits 6 people.

The dining room table sits 6 people.

I was doing things around the cabin and just walking around like I didn’t know what to do next.  Someone told me to sit down.  I knew I would not be able to sit for very long.  But, I sat anyway.  I sat in the love seat and looked out the big floor to ceiling windows at those beautiful mountains.  Then I remembered that I had just bought my dream home.  I was in the mountains and I owned one of the most beautiful cabins I have ever seen.  Those mountains had a really calming affect on me.  I suddenly realized that all those things will pass and I will still have a beautiful home that I can enjoy over and over again.

I hope those mountains have the same calming affect on our guests.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/daily-prompt-safety/

12 thoughts on “Purchasing a cabin in The Great Smoky Mountains

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inhale and Exhale | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: All’s well that ends well | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Breathe… Exhale | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: The Gremmie’s Lament | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: “Yes… I DO” | hastywords

    • The Great Smoky Mountain National Park is definitely one of our big draws. But, there is still so much to do in the area. No one has canceled. And, we still seem to be getting bookings. The fall foliage in the Great Smoky Mountains are still a beautiful sight. Thanks for asking!

  9. After I studied a few of the pages on your website now, and I truly like your style of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my site too and let me know what you think.

  10. Pingback: Murphy’s law | Thriving Pessimist…

Leave a Reply

